"I believe that my sons’ education at Bolton School has been the best investment I have ever made and I heartily commend it to all prospective new parents. "

Eric Fairweather, Parent

Read more testimonials

Old Girl Has First Novel Published

Wednesday, 30 October 2013

Former Bolton School Girls’ Division pupil, Melissa Bailey (1982-1989), has released her first novel - The Medici Mirror.

The book is described as a haunting story of jealousy, obsession, and murder, perfect for fans of Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine; a story about the ability of the past to influence the present and of love's power to defeat even the most powerful of curses.

From School, Melissa went on to study English Language and Literature at Lincoln College, Oxford. After graduating, she moved to London and studied law, going on to pursue a career as a Media lawyer. She still practises part time.
 
The blurb to The Medici Mirror reads: “When architect Johnny Carter is asked to redesign a long-abandoned Victorian shoe factory, he discovers a hidden room deep in the basement. A dark, sinister room, which contains a sixteenth-century Venetian mirror. Johnny has a new love, Ophelia, in his life. But as the pair's relationship develops and they begin to explore the mystery surrounding the mirror, its malign influence threatens to envelop and destroy them.”

The book, which is being published by Random House (Arrow), is now available to buy across the UK. One review on Amazon says: “This book is a beautifully crafted blend of a horror, ghost, love and crime novel that makes for a genuinely cracking read. Expansively whirling through the eras of Catherine de Medici, Victorian London and the present time this genre-bending debut is chock full of heart stopping twists and moments when the hairs on the back of your neck rise.”

Below is a link below to a short film which introduces the novel -
 
http://youtu.be/MY2Ah3GDZB0
 
Other information about the book is available on Melissa’s website www.melissabailey.info.

Share or bookmark with:

Melissa has had her first novel, The Medici Mirror, published

Melissa has had her first novel, The Medici Mirror, published

d