View more News
Friday, 14 June 2013
The whole of Hesketh House took a trip to Port Sunlight to discover more about their School heritage and its founder Sir William Hesketh Lever, the first Lord Leverhulme.
Port Sunlight Museum and Garden Village is a unique and beautiful 19th century garden village which was created solely for the workers at the Lever Brothers’ Sunlight Soap factory. William Lever personally supervised planning the village, employing nearly thirty different architects, and the variety of architecture and the beauty of the buildings is unique in the area. In 1922 the Lady Lever Art Gallery was opened at Port Sunlight, housing his magnificent personal collection, and named in memory of his wife.
William Hesketh Lever established Lever Brothers soap manufacturing company (now part of Unilever) in 1886 with his brother James, after working for his father's wholesale grocery business. It was one of the first companies to manufacture soap from vegetable oils, and with Lever's business acumen and marketing practices, produced a great fortune. In 1887, Lever Brothers began looking for a new site on which to expand its soap-making business. The company bought 56 acres of flat unused marshy land which became Port Sunlight. Lever offered decent living conditions at Port Sunlight in the belief that good housing would ensure a healthy and happy workforce. It was developed adjoining the soap factory to accommodate the company's staff in good quality housing, with high architectural standards and many community facilities.
On their visit to Port Sunlight, the girls learned about the architects who designed the houses, principal buildings and landscapes and experienced what it was like to live and work at Port Sunlight during the village's heyday. They visited the Port Sunlight Museum and the Lady Lever Art Gallery, and enjoyed a guided tour around the village by coach as well as an interactive workshop.
* In 1913 Sir William Hesketh Lever, the first Viscount Leverhulme, gave a generous joint endowment to the High School for Girls and the Bolton Grammar School for Boys on condition that the two should be equal partners known as Bolton School (Boys' and Girls' Divisions). On 1 April 1915, the Bolton School Foundation formally came into existence. The school name Hesketh House, is a tribute to Lord Leverhulme.
Share or bookmark with: