"We could not be more delighted with our son's progress at Beech House. His personal and social development has been remarkable. Academically we have seen him make excellent progress as well."

Beech House Parent

Read more testimonials

Accomplished Playing at Young Musician Awards

Thursday, 02 March 2017

  • Young Musician of the Year - Group
  • Young Musician of the Year - Matthew Kay
  • Young Musician of the Year - Drums
  • Young Musician of the Year - Matthew Kay (L) and Jay Harland (R)
  • Young Musician of the Year - Cello
  • Young Musician of the Year - Violin
  • Young Musician of the Year - Trumpet
  • Young Musician of the Year - Trombone
  • Young Musician of the Year - Voice

In its thirteenth year, the Bolton School Boys’ Division Young Musician of the Year competition once again provided another wonderful evening of entertainment and accomplished music-making.  Adjudicator Jennifer Downing, who is Director of Music at Bury Grammar School Boys, was very impressed with all that she heard and had the unenviable task of deciding upon the winners. After serious consideration, the Junior Winner (Years 7-9) was announced as percussionist Tyler Titley from Year 9 and vocalist Matthew Kay from Year 13 was awarded the Senior (Years 10-13) prize. Each boy took away a cash prize of £100, a winner’s trophy and had their name engraved on the Young Musician of the Year plaques which are on permanent display in school.  There were also trophies and cash prizes for the Junior Young Composer of the Year, Matthew Settle and Senior Young Composers, Matthew Kay and Jay Harland. A Most Promising Performer award went to Year 10 pupil Adam Whitmore. 

The competition had actually begun in mid-January, as hundreds of boys took part in heats in seven instrumental categories. The field was whittled down to 84 semi-finalists – 12 performers, six senior and six junior, in each of the seven classes. Lasting the whole day, the semi final saw 14 pupils become winners in their instrument class – Jamie Death and Jamie Gregson were junior and senior winners in the Brass category, Harry Paterson and Alfie Inkster were winners in the Piano/Organ section, Alfie Birkett and Elijah Egun in Strings, Joshua Kay and Matthew Kay in the Vocals category, Simon Whitmore and Tom Paterson in Woodwind instruments, Jude Ashcroft and James Stevens in the Guitar section and Tyler Titley and Oliver King in the Percussion category; each of these boys took away a trophy on the final night.

Director of Music in the Boys’ Division, Mr Bleasdale, said: “It has been an exceptional evening of music. My sincere thanks go to Jennifer Downing for judging and to our accompanists,  Mrs Hall-Smith and Mrs Whitmore, to Mr Forgrieve for his help on many fronts and to Mr Deakin for making everything sound so great. Thanks also go to the boys – and their individual music teachers – for their hard work. They have provided us with a wealth of wonderful music over the last month.”

Share or bookmark with: