Bolton School Senior Boys

Marvellous Music at Young Musician of the Year Final

Fourteen musicians took to the stage for the final of the Boys' Division's Young Musician of the Year Award. This marks the eleventh year of the event, and competition was as fierce as ever with hundreds of entries and a very high standard of performance throughout.

It all began back in January with internal heats adjudicated by three members of the Music Department: Mr Bleasdale, Mr Forgrieve and Mrs Hampson. In each of the seven instrumental categories, the twelve best performers were selected to go through to the semi-finals in February. Mrs Carolyn Baxendale, the Head of Bolton Music Service, was invited to act as adjudicator for the event, and had the difficult task of whittling eighty-four boys down to the final fourteen!

One junior and one senior finalist in each instrumental category then performed in the grand final, adjudicated by Mrs Angela Ball, Deputy Head of Bolton Music Service.

In the Junior category, Year 8 boys Alex Gao, William Hardy, Jonathan Shine and Adam Whitmore competed, as did Year 9 pupils Victor Chow, Dominic Hardy and Shivam Patel. The Senior Category comprised of Year 11 boys Adam Shine and James Yearn, Year 12 students Nicholas Thompson and Thomas Noneley, and Year 13 students Andrew Clelland, Thomas Fine and William Holt. The boys all performed extremely well in the final, making this another difficult decision for the adjudicator!

While Mrs Ball was deliberating over her final decision, the evening’s performances continued with the Young Composer of the Year category, which was opened up to bands for the first time this year. The Music Department was very impressed with the quality, creativity and diversity of the compositions, but eventually chose Owen Critchlow in Year 8 as winner of the Junior competition, and Year 10 band The Parallel Oreos (Adam Critchlow, James Hardlan, Hassaan Hussain and George Morgan) for the Senior prize. Owen and the Parallel Oreos performed their winning pieces in front of the audience.

They were followed by the Most Promising Performer. This award is given in recognition of an outstanding semi-final performance, which did not quite make it into the final. This year the honour went to Alex Moriarty in Year 11.

Finally, at the end of the evening, Mrs Ball revealed her decision. Victor Chow was awarded the Junior Young Musician of the Year trophy, and Thomas Fines won the title of Senior Young Musician of the Year. Each received a trophy and prize of £100, and will have their names added to the Young Musician of the Year plaques which are on permanent display in the Music Department.

The Junior and Senior Young Composer of the Year also received trophies and a prize of £50 each. All of the boys who competed in the Young Musician of the Year final received trophies for winning their instrumental category.

The Young Musician of the Year finalists with their trophies

The Young Musician of the Year finalists with their trophies