Bolton School Senior Boys

Sports Colours Awards

Impressive sporting performances over the course of 2015-16 in Bolton School Boys’ Division were recognised with the awarding of Sports Colours and Half Colours by Head of Games, Mr Paul Fernside, in a School Assembly.

In hockey, full colours went to Sam Tilley, Luke Hodson and Tom Briscoe. The Ashworth Trophy for the most improved hockey players and half colours were awarded to Anchit Chandran. The Allison Trophy went to School hockey captain Matthew Whitfield.

For the first time in many years, the Boys’ Division reached the National Chess Finals and, as a result of their efforts, two senior players, Rohit Bagewadi and Jack Virgin, received half colours.  In golf, the Eric Dawber Captain’s Award went to Aston Haslam. Half colours were won by Zack Weir, Oliver Harford and Tom Wright for their tennis endeavours.

Half colours were awarded to Harrison Barker-Smith, Andrew Mattison, Bill Moores and Elliott Makin and full colours to Will Plant, Ben Ray, Josh Smith-Trow, Oliver Rhodes and David Price for their success in water polo.

Dominic Walker achieved full colours and Callum Pritchard half colours for their swimming exploits and the Field Cup went to swimming captain Tom Prayle, who also received the Pearson Trophy as the School water polo captain.

In football, half colours were earned by Sam Bevan, Lewis Tunnah, Craig Borrows, James Kay, Bayley Brigg, Oliver King, James Yearn, Tom Russell and Harry Balmer and to the second team captain, Caleb Hall-Paterson and third team captain, Louis Bohm. Full colours went to Will Davidson, Elliott Turnbull, Chris Pantelides, Sam Bootle, Richard Bromilow and Jackson Shaw. The C Rigby Player of the Year Award and half colours were given to Matthew Sandham. The Bradley Trophy was won by school football captain Will Davidson.

Rugby saw half colour awards won by Robert Parkinson and Patrick Tyrer and full colours going to Josh Holmes, Chris Batterbee and Ed Sandford.  The L C Jones Captain’s Award and full colours went to Chris Brownlow.

The final award, the Hindley Trophy, which is presented to the best individual performance or performer of the year, saw nominations for GB Water Polo keeper James Barker, ISFA U16s’ keeper Paul Foster, the entire U18 water polo team for retaining their national crown for the third successive season, Arron Davies for winning silver and bronze medals in the GB Water Skiing Championships and Matthew Potts, England’s U18 hockey goalkeeper. The winner was declared as Arron Davies who also picked up full colours for his success in water skiing.​

Arron Davies

Arron Davies received the Hindley Trophy for best individual sporting performance

Boys received their awards from the Headmaster during morning assembly