Bolton School Senior Boys

Year 8 Emerging Schools' Rugby Success

Representing Lancashire, Bolton School's Year 8 rugby league team overcame Birkdale High from Sefton by 60 points to 8 to become this year's North-West Emerging Schools' Cup Final winners.

Bolton set their stall out early with a try from their first possession to put Birkdale on the back foot. After further Birkdale errors, Bolton capitalised and gained a further score to make it 12-0. It didn't get any better for the men from Sefton as Holmes weaved his way through on the right flank, 16-0. However Birkdale persevered and got their rewards with a try from Sean Clarke, but Bolton's ability to continue to power through the defence resulted in yet another try, 16-4. Bolton by this time were rampant and Batterbee scored an impressive try, running a considerable distance and they added a further score to this, 24-4.

Birkdale realised they had to stop making the basic errors that were putting them under pressure. With this in mind they gained a little bit of momentum and managed to penetrate the Bolton line for a second time making the score 24-8.

Bolton's dominance of the game was emphasised in the second period as they scored at regular intervals without conceding a single try. They denied Birkdale any field position and were clinical with the ball in hand.

Bolton ended the game on a high and with nine tries in the second half; the final score read 60 points to 8.

Notable performances were Chris Brownlow and Chris Batterbee from Bolton School; Birkdale's most valuable players were Michael Howard and James Mitchell.

Bolton School's Year 9 team also made it to the North-West Regional final, where they met Sir Thomas Boteler College from Warrington.

The level of commitment and intensity from both teams was apparent throughout the match but despite some serious periods of possession for Bolton School, they were unable to match their Warrington opposition for tries scored.  The Warrington school running out emphatic winners at 44 points to 8.

Players recognised for their efforts were Matthew Boyers and Harry Knowles from Bolton School; with captain James Jones, Charlie Lee and Conner Byron singled out for Thomas Boteler.

The Year 8 Winners

The triumphant Year 8 team