Bolton School Sixth Form Boys

Hockey Player Joins U18 National Squad

  • IMG_1826 cr.jpg
  • PF1_6071.jpg
  • Resized_20210828_164418001 cr.jpg

Congratulations to Year 13 hockey player Max Turner, who has been selected for England Hockey’s U18 National Age Group Squad. The group of sixty-one young players was selected following the School Games and Futures Cup. Performances at these two tournaments allowed the England Age Group coaches to identify players to go forward for future observation and assessment.

Max will now work with the Age Group Squad through further training, with the aim of making it into the final training squad later in the year.

He has previously played for Bolton Hockey Club on the 2nd XI, where he earned the Players’ Player Award in the summer of 2020. He moved last season to Brooklands Manchester University Hockey Club to try and achieve a higher playing standard, and since then has jumped up two levels. Through the England Hockey Single System, he has attended the Junior Development Centre, Junior Academy Centre and Performance Centre before being selected for the Pennine Pumas, which represent the best of the North Performance Centres.

His sister Erin in Year 10 and older brother Ben Turner (Class of 2020) are also hockey players.

Share or bookmark with:

Other articles you may find interesting

  • Boys Design New KaBo Hockey Sticks

    Over 30 pupils in Bolton School Boys’ Division took part in a competition to design a new hockey stick for KaBo Hockey Limited,...

  • Cups and Colours Celebrate Sporting Success

    The Cups and Colours Assembly is the annual celebration of sporting achievement at Bolton School Boys’ Division. This event has...

  • MCC Hub Girls Win Cricket Final at Lords

    A squad of girls who honed their cricketing skills at Bolton School has won the National Hub T20 Competition this summer. In...

  • School Games Gold Award for Boys’ Division

    Bolton School Boys’ Division has, once again, received a Gold Mark Award from School Games. The School has won the award for...