Bolton School Sixth Form Boys

National Award for School History Magazine

Bolton School's History magazine 'The HistOracle' has won 'Best School History Magazine' 2011, as awarded by the Young Historian Project in conjunction with The Spirit of Normandy Trust.

This is a huge honour for the School and the magazine, which is a biannual publication of eclectic historical essays and articles produced by boys of all ages. As well as the prestige of receiving the award, the History Department will also receive a cash prize to be reinvested in historical pursuits.

Two boys received individual awards - Jack Unwin won first prize in the Local History 16-19 category for his 'HistOracle' article on the Pretoria Pit Disaster. The judges said Jack presented a very sensitive and thoughtful study and regarded his entry as possibly the best that they had ever seen in this category. Jack receives £100 prize money. Sam Hardman was runner up in the Spirit of Normandy category for his article on The Battle of Britain, winning a newly published book on the weaponry of war. William Burrow, who has this summer left the School to study History at Cambridge University, was also highly commended for his article on Medieval chivalry, as was David Anderson for his article on the Spitfire. Bolton School has come out ahead of all schools in the country to win these prizes. The 'Young Historian Project' initiative has been celebrating the achievements of young historians in schools for over twenty years. It is largely funded by the Historical Association and the Spirit of Normandy Trust, and seeks to encourage young people to be historians.

School Captain and HistOracle contributor Nick Fairclough said: "We always enjoy putting the magazine together and are all delighted to have won this award. It's fantastic that all our hard work, and that of the History Department, has been recognised."

A Level Historians

A Level Historians put together the award winning 'HistOracle' magazine

Sam Hardman and Jack Unwin

Sam Hardman and Jack Unwin received individual recognition in the awards